Measure Phase Success Criteria for the DMAIC Improvement Process

June 07th, 2013

Tags: Measure Phase DMAIC, DMAIC, Six Sigma Measure, Lean Six Sigma, lean six sigma certifications, Six Sigma Certifications

The DMAIC Improvement Process of Lean Six Sigma comprises five phases namely, Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, and Control. The Measure phase is all about understanding the key performance measures associated with the process and setting the baseline for improvement measurement.  It is all about establishing the current state so you know where you are before making any changes.  The following article outlines the Measure Phase Objectives, the Tools to Apply, and the Deliverables to be achieved.


  • Establish current baseline performance of the process.
  • Finalize the business case and set the point to measure improvements from.
  • Understand the Process - existing conditions and the sources of the problems
  • Determine What to Measure, Where, When, and How much

Tools to Use:

  • Data Collection and Sampling Plans
  • Data collection Check Sheets and Forms
  • Measurement System Evaluation
    • Gage R&R
    • Visual Attribute Assessment
  • Process FMEA
  • Quality Cost Statement
  • Process Control Charts
  • Histograms
  • Pareto Analysis

Deliverables that Signify Phase Completion:

  • Identification of the Main Problem(s)
  • Key Performance Measures Selected
    • Process Inputs
    • Process Steps
    • Process Outputs
  • Completed Measurement System Analysis
    • Repeatable
    • Reproducible
    • Resolution
  • Current Baseline Performance Established
  • Improvements can now be measured from the Current Baseline of Performance
    • Cost
    • Process Yield
    • Process Sigma Level

Leave a Comment